New year, new blog, old thoughts

I’m never sure what to do with a blog. I’ve always got thoughts and opinions running around in my mind that I want to get out and share, but I usually either come off sounding angry/rude or just plain whiny. And I hate that. So I’m trying to decide where to go with this blog. I read people like Matt Walsh, and really like his style, but I obviously don’t just want to be a parrot of what he says or how he writes. I have my own opinions, just not sure how to share them in a way that anybody would care to read.

Then there’s the issue of the audience. Do I write just for the sake of expressing and letting out my thoughts? Or do I write in a way that would appeal to someone else who might be reading? Good question. I guess I’ll just see how it goes.

Some things about myself:
I’m the father of a 6 month old boy on a mission. He seems to be in a hurry to go somewhere. He’s been ahead of the curve from the night he was born. Maybe because he was nearly 41 weeks along before we finally forced him to come into this world and he feels like he has to make up for lost time. Well, he’s definitely done that. And then some.

I’m the husband of a gorgeous, funny, witty, quiet, loving, giving, red-headed Wonder Woman who has put up with me for the last 2.5 years as her goofball husband, and the 1.5 years before that since we met and started dating. We met on a chance through a friend who was interested in her at the time. But I didn’t let that hold me back. We were dating in just over a month after meeting. Life has been a fun, crazy, exciting, terrifying, heartbreaking, joyful, amazing adventure since that day exactly 4 years ago tonight. She deserves way better than the mess that I am, but she definitely loves me, so I consider myself blessed for that.

I’m Messianic. Except not really. But I’m not a “christian” either. At least not in the regular meaning. I believe that the Messiah has already come, and we are awaiting His return, just like most true christians. Only major difference between me and the general Christian public is that I call Him Yeshua, and I believe that He didn’t do anything new in regards to the Torah and the expectations that God has for His children. Other than that, I believe that the entire Bible is the true, living, inspired word of the one true God, who has set aside the nation of Israel (the Jews) as His people, and nothing about that, nor the Scriptures, has changed. Ever. I haven’t “converted” to anything, nor do I believe that christians/gentiles have to convert to judaism (or vice versa) in order to please God or be saved. That would be salvation by works.

Most of my opinions and thoughts are influenced by my faith. So because of that, I come off a bit harsh or rough when discussing certain things (like Islam and christianity. Their historical persecution of the Jewish people is frighteningly similar).

If you still care to read after knowing that, then awesome. If not, I won’t be offended. Because I won’t know.

If you do find yourself intertwined in this mess, thanks.

Leave a comment